Affiliate disclosure: ToolBistro may earn a commission from some links, at no extra cost to you. Facts come from official sources; we do not publish fabricated testing or ratings.

AI Tools

What Is Firefox AI, and Do You Still Need a Paid Chatbot?

Firefox AI's Smart Window has been powered by Mistral models since September 16, 2026, and Mozilla lists no separate price for it. The assistant is a beta feature of the free Firefox desktop browser, currently offered in English to users in the U.S. and Canada, with French support added in France on September 16.

Key facts

What matters

  • Smart Window is Firefox's own AI workspace: it reads the open tabs and browsing history you choose to share, then summarises, compares and organises them.
  • Mozilla's September 16, 2026 update puts Mistral models behind Smart Window for users in France and North America; Mistral says the UK and Germany follow later this year.
  • Mozilla's product page advertises a choice of three models or bring your own, and names none of them.
  • ChatGPT Plus is $20/mo and Mistral's own Pro plan is $14.99/mo, so the free browser assistant changes what you pay a chatbot for rather than replacing every paid tier.
  • Availability is the real catch: English in the U.S. and Canada plus French in France, with a notification list for everyone else.

What Firefox AI does inside Smart Window

Smart Window is Firefox's AI browsing workspace: a panel that works from the tabs and history you hand it and turns them into something usable. Mozilla frames it as a way to finish what you started online, not as a general-purpose chatbot.

The August 2026 release, kept current with a September 16 update, added three things worth checking before you try it: suggested tab groups (with duplicate-tab spotting and one-click closing), visual previews of your browsing history so you can recognise a page you only half-remember, and answers with the sources attached. Mozilla retrieves that current web information through a partnership with Exa, so an answer does not throw you onto a separate results page.

Mozilla's Head of Firefox, Ajit Varma, puts the pitch this way: "The browser already has much of the context around what you're trying to do, the research in your tabs, the pages you've visited, the things you've found along the way." Smart Window is the attempt to use that context rather than ship one more chat box.

What the Mistral deal changes for Firefox AI

Mistral's September 16, 2026 post states that Smart Window is now powered by Mistral models for users in France and North America, with the United Kingdom and Germany expected later this year. Mistral's stated reason is regional language work: models fine-tuned on local languages, dialects and context. That is the vendor's own description of its approach, not an independent benchmark result.

The privacy terms are the sharper half of the announcement. Mistral says conversations are not saved on Mozilla's servers by default, and that partners such as Mistral agree to zero data retention. Mozilla's own product page says the same thing in its own words: no chat transcripts kept, no training on your conversations, no selling your data.

One discrepancy matters if you are outside the United States. Mozilla describes availability as English in the U.S. and Canada, with the September 16 update adding French in France. Mistral describes the rollout as France and North America. Mozilla's account is the narrower and more specific one, so treat that as the confirmed footprint.

What Firefox AI costs next to ChatGPT and Mistral Pro

Nothing on Mozilla's Smart Window page carries a price, a subscription or a usage meter. As of September 17, 2026 it is a download page and a feature pitch, and Firefox itself is free to download. Absence of a price is not a promise that one never appears, but there is no paid tier to compare against today.

The subscriptions people weigh it against are easier to verify. OpenAI's pricing documentation lists ChatGPT Free at $0, Go at $8/month, Plus at $20/month, Pro from $100/month (5x or 20x the rate limits of Plus), and Business at $20 per user per month billed annually, or $25 monthly. Mistral's pricing page lists its Pro plan at $14.99/month, with a $5.99/month education price for verified students, and Team at $24.99 per user per month.

Those numbers reframe the decision. The company charging $14.99/month for Pro is also supplying models to a browser assistant Mozilla hands out at no listed charge. The paid tiers buy usage ceilings, coding agents, mobile apps and API access, not an AI that can read your tabs.

Which jobs still need a paid chatbot

Smart Window is strong at chores that need context: pulling the differences out of six product pages, summarising a long report, finding the page you read last week, sorting a mess of tabs into groups. Those are tasks people currently pay a subscription to muddle through by pasting links into a chat window.

The paid tiers still own the jobs Smart Window does not touch. OpenAI's plan documentation ties Plus and Pro to Codex on the web, in the CLI, in the IDE extension and on iOS, plus cloud-based code review and Slack integrations, with Pro adding 5x or 20x the usage ceilings of Plus. Mistral's Pro plan sells all-day coding in the CLI, the IDE or the web. Mozilla's pages promise no API, no CLI and no mobile version of Smart Window, and the try-this flow on firefox.com runs on a computer only.

Firefox also keeps a second, separate AI surface. Its sidebar assistant lets you pick among ChatGPT, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, Claude and Mistral Chat. If you want an OpenAI model inside the browser, that sidebar is the door, not Smart Window, which Mozilla now points at Mistral.

Privacy: what Mozilla promises, and what it leaves open

Mozilla's claims are specific. Chat transcripts are not kept, conversations are not used to train models, data is not sold, and Mozilla says it processes limited technical information to keep the feature running. Memories, the feature that carries context between sessions, are stored on your device rather than Mozilla's servers, and you can see what was remembered, delete it, or switch it off.

Control lives in Firefox's AI Controls, which Mozilla describes as one place to manage Smart Window, including turning it off completely. The assistant is optional: you decide when to open it and which browsing context it may use.

What is not published matters too. The product page advertises three selectable models or bring-your-own and names none of them, and no Mozilla page states which Mistral model handles default requests. Zero data retention is Mistral's commitment to Mozilla, not a public audit, so buyers who need contractual guarantees should get them in writing.

Where Firefox AI is not available yet, and how to switch it on

The beta's footprint is narrower than the announcement implies. Mozilla lists English for the United States and Canada, with French added in France on September 16, 2026, and tells everyone else to join a notification list. Mistral expects the United Kingdom and Germany later this year.

To try it, update to the current desktop Firefox and open firefox.com/smart-window. The page checks your browser version first, and the try-this flow is desktop only. If your region is not live, no amount of clicking will produce the feature.

Turning it off is equally direct: Smart Window sits under Firefox's AI Controls, alongside the sidebar assistants, so you can close the panel for good without uninstalling anything.

At a glance

QuestionFirefox Smart Window (beta)ChatGPTMistral Pro
Listed priceNo price shown; ships with FirefoxFree $0, Go $8/mo, Plus $20/mo, Pro from $100/mo$14.99/mo, $5.99/mo for verified students
Model choiceThree models or bring your own (none named on the page)OpenAI models onlyMistral models only
Browsing contextOpen tabs and history, only what you choose to shareNot stated on OpenAI's pricing pageNot stated on Mistral's pricing page
Where it runsDesktop Firefox; English in the U.S. and Canada, French in FranceWeb, desktop, mobile, CLI and IDE (Codex on Plus and Pro)Web, mobile, CLI and IDE on paid tiers
Privacy defaultChats not kept on Mozilla's servers by default; Memories stored on your deviceNot stated on OpenAI's pricing pageNot stated on Mistral's pricing page

FAQ

Is Firefox AI free?

Mozilla's Smart Window page lists no price, subscription or paid tier as of September 17, 2026, and the feature ships with the free Firefox browser. Paid products from the same vendors are separate: Mistral's own Pro plan is $14.99/month per Mistral's pricing page, and ChatGPT Plus is $20/month per OpenAI's pricing documentation.

Which models does Firefox Smart Window use?

Mozilla does not name them. Its product page says users can choose from three models or bring their own, and Mistral's September 16, 2026 post says Mistral models now power Smart Window for users in France and North America.

Is Firefox's AI available in the UK or Germany yet?

No. Mozilla says the beta is offered in English in the U.S. and Canada and, as of September 16, 2026, in French in France. Mistral says the United Kingdom and Germany are expected later this year.

Related reading

Mistral API pricing and model rates, ChatGPT Plus vs Pro usage limits, ChatGPT vs Claude

Sources