Affiliate disclosure: ToolBistro may earn a commission from some links, at no extra cost to you. Facts come from official sources; we do not publish fabricated testing or ratings.

AI Tools

Which AI content detector is worth paying for in 2026?

The best AI content detector in 2026 depends on volume, not brand: Pangram costs $20 per month for 300,000 words, Originality.ai $12.95 per month billed yearly for 200,000, and Sapling $12 per month billed yearly. Pangram is the detector Wikipedia's AI Cleanup founding member used to estimate how much machine text gets through.

Key facts

What matters

  • Wikipedia's WikiProject AI Cleanup estimated that 15 to 16 percent of new English Wikipedia articles and drafts were AI-generated in early 2026, down from about 20 percent in late 2025, per founding member Ellia Lebleu in IEEE Spectrum.
  • Pangram Individual costs $20 per month after a 7-day trial with 300,000 words and 100 image scans a month; annual billing saves $60. Professional is $65 per month with 5x the words and $200 of monthly API credits.
  • Originality.ai Pro is $14.95 per month billed monthly or $12.95 per month billed yearly ($155.40 a year) for 200,000 words; Enterprise is $179 monthly or $136.58 monthly billed yearly for 1.5 million words.
  • Sapling's free tier stops at 2,000 characters per check; Pro raises it to 100,000 characters for $25 per month, or $12 per month billed yearly.
  • English Wikipedia prohibits LLM-generated article text and states that sanctions require evidence beyond writing style, so a single detector score is not proof of anything.

What an AI content detector actually measures

An AI content detector is a classifier that outputs a probability that a passage was machine-written, inferred from token choice, sentence rhythm and phrasing distributions. It is not reading a watermark. Nothing in a normal ChatGPT or Claude output carries one, which is why the same paragraph can score 12 percent on one vendor and 90 percent on another.

That probabilistic nature is the part buyers skip. English Wikipedia's own guideline on LLM content spells out why the score cannot stand alone: "The writing style of some editors may appear similar to the output of LLMs, meaning that the imposition of sanctions requires evidence beyond basic stylistic or linguistic indications." If a 20-year-old encyclopedia run by volunteers will not punish an editor on style signals alone, a school or a client should not either.

So the useful question is not which detector is most accurate in the abstract. It is which detector is calibrated on text like yours, at a price per word you can justify.

Why the AI content detector question became urgent in October 2026

WikiProject AI Cleanup started in December 2023, when AI prose was easy to spot: articles repeated phrases like "stands as a testament" or ended in a section titled "Why is this important?" By 2025 the tells had moved into structure, so volunteer editors started looking at the rule of three, negative parallelisms and edit velocity. Someone publishing five long articles in five minutes is a stronger signal than any single sentence.

The policy hardened alongside the detection work. English Wikipedia now treats LLM generation or rewriting of article content as strictly prohibited outside narrow exceptions such as copyediting and reviewed translation, a rule settled by a March 2026 request for comment. Editors who keep using models outside those exceptions can be blocked from editing.

Then came measurement. Lebleu told IEEE Spectrum she worked with the detection company Pangram to estimate how much AI text was slipping through, testing first on Wikipedia content written before ChatGPT. Late 2025 flagged roughly 20 percent of new articles and drafts; early 2026 came in at 15 to 16 percent. Lebleu is explicit that the drop is ambiguous: it may reflect the new policy, or it may reflect stronger models that Pangram has not caught up with.

The other half of the story matters more for anyone buying a detector. Fabricated or misused citations are now the main worry, because retrieval-augmented models usually cite real papers and then misdescribe them. A detector scores style. It does not check whether the cited source supports the sentence.

AI content detector pricing, verified on 29 October 2026

Four vendors cover almost every real buying decision. All figures below come from each vendor's own pricing page on the date above; the table keeps the billing toggle state attached to each number because that is where most comparisons go wrong.

The per-word maths is close enough that features decide it. At 200,000 words a month, Originality.ai Pro runs $155.40 a year on annual billing. Pangram at $20 a month is $240 a year before the $60 annual discount. Sapling Pro at $12 a month billed yearly is $144, but its unit is characters per check, not words per month, so heavy batch users should test it against their real document sizes first.

What you get beyond a score, plan by plan

Detectors sell the same headline number and bundle very different workflows. On Pangram, similarity detection runs on every scan, the file uploader includes OCR for scanned documents, and the Individual plan carries 100 image scans a month plus Google Docs and Gmail integrations. That last pair matters in practice: checking a document where it was written is faster than exporting it.

Originality.ai loads the most checks into one subscription. Pro includes the AI checker, a plagiarism checker, readability and grammar checkers, a guideline checker, a fact and hallucination check, sentence-level precision, writing replay and bulk or deep scans, with 30 days of scan history and PDF exports. Extra seats cost $9.95 a month on monthly billing or $8.62 on annual, and API access does not appear until the Enterprise tier at $136.58 a month billed yearly.

Sapling prices by character limit rather than word pool: 2,000 characters per check on Free, 100,000 on Pro and Enterprise, with 5 files per batch on Free and 10 on paid plans. Its API is billed per character, accepts up to 200,000 characters per request and does not return a shareable result link, which is the difference to know before you build a workflow around it.

GPTZero's product list runs wider than text detection (hallucination detection, plagiarism, authorship and writing replay, a Chrome extension, AI vision), but its pricing page presents seats and billing period through a configurator instead of fixed plan cards, so a team price needs a quote rather than a click.

The practical split: writing replay and authorship history are the features that protect a human from a false positive, because they show a document being composed over time. If your use case can end in an accusation, buy for that artifact, not for a prettier percentage.

The accuracy evidence to demand before you pay

Almost no detector vendor publishes a false-positive rate on a corpus you can inspect. Lebleu's test is the closest thing to a public calibration point: she ran Pangram against Wikipedia content written before ChatGPT and reported no false positives, which is why she treats the 15 to 16 percent figure as a conservative lower bound rather than a ceiling.

Use that as a template for your own trial, which every vendor above offers free or nearly free:

  • Collect 20 documents you know are human-written in your domain (student essays, staff memos, product pages) and 20 you know are machine-written.
  • Score both sets on the same day and record the per-sentence flags, not just the document percentage.
  • Ask each vendor how often the model is retrained and what language coverage the score claims, because multilingual detection is a separate model, not a free feature.
  • Re-run the control set 60 days later. If your human baseline drifts, the detector is decaying, not your writing.

The test set costs an afternoon. It will tell you more than any accuracy claim on a marketing page, including ours.

What a detector score is allowed to prove

In publishing, treat a high score as a routing decision: it sends a draft to a human reviewer, nothing more. Wikipedia's guideline is the model here, and its practical logic transfers. Volunteer editors are told to weigh the full pattern of an editor's recent work and whether it complies with content policy, not the stylistic resemblance alone.

In education and hiring the stakes run the other way. A student wrongly flagged as AI-generated can fail a course; a candidate wrongly flagged can lose an interview. Two safeguards are cheap: keep the detector output alongside a writing-history artifact (version history, browser authorship replay where the vendor offers it) and never present a percentage as the finding. Present the passages and let a person judge.

For SEO teams the risk is different again. Google does not publish an AI-detection score and does not rank by one; the ranking question is whether the page satisfies the query. Buying a detector to chase a ranking factor that does not exist is the most common wasted subscription in this category.

Which AI content detector fits which buyer

  • Solo blogger or freelance editor: Originality.ai Pro at $12.95 per month billed yearly, because 200,000 words plus a plagiarism and readability check in one scan covers a normal client load.
  • Newsroom, NGO or research team that needs defensible numbers: Pangram Individual at $20 per month. You are paying for the calibration story and the similarity detection, not more words per dollar.
  • Teacher or small school: start on GPTZero's free account, which the company says is used by more than 10 million teachers and students across 100+ countries and is the official AI detector partner of the American Federation of Teachers. Move to a paid school licence only after the control test above.
  • Short-text checking inside Google Docs, Outlook or Word: Sapling Pro at $12 per month billed yearly, where the limit is 100,000 characters per check rather than a monthly word pool.
  • Building detection into your own product: Sapling's metered API takes up to 200,000 characters per request with a one-time $5 minimum, while Originality.ai's API access starts at the Enterprise tier, $136.58 per month billed yearly for 1.5 million words.

Where every AI content detector still fails

Paraphrasing beats detection. Any pipeline that runs model output through a rewriter, or asks a model to imitate a named human's style, degrades these scores quickly, and the vendors' own claims are the only evidence most will give you.

Structure and source quality are outside the model's view. Wikipedia's cleanup volunteers catch fake or misapplied citations by checking the source, which is labour the detector cannot do; the project has leaned on a community-built AI source verifier and the Wikimedia Foundation's Paste Check tool, which flags text pasted directly from chatbots. Neither replaces reading.

Pricing floors are real. Free tiers are sample-sized by design (Sapling 2,000 characters per check, Originality.ai 10,000 words as a one-time allowance, ZeroGPT free forever with paid personal plans behind a monthly/annual toggle), and a detector that only reads 2,000 characters will not score a 4,000-word article honestly.

Finally, language coverage is under-documented. None of the pricing pages above publishes a false-positive rate for non-English text, even though Pangram sells a multilingual detector. If your content is not English, request that number before you sign.

At a glance

DetectorCheapest paid planIncluded usageFree tierNotes
Pangram$20/mo Individual; annual billing saves $60300,000 words + 100 image scans per month7-day free trialSimilarity detection on every scan; Professional $65/mo with 5x words and $200/mo API credits
Originality.ai$14.95/mo monthly; $12.95/mo billed yearly ($155.40/yr)200,000 words (2,000 credits) per month10,000 words one-timeExtra seats $9.95/mo monthly or $8.62/mo yearly; Enterprise $179/mo or $136.58/mo billed yearly for 1.5M words
Sapling$25/mo monthly; $12/mo billed yearly100,000 characters per check2,000 characters per checkEnterprise from 10 seats at $15/seat/mo; API metered, $5 one-time minimum
GPTZeroSeat-based configurator, no fixed list price shownNot stated as a monthly word pool on the pricing pageFree account availableOfficial AI detector partner of the American Federation of Teachers
ZeroGPTPersonal plans behind a monthly/annual toggleNot stated on the pricing page$0 forever40% off annual billing

FAQ

Is there a free AI content detector that is actually usable?

Yes, but only for short passages. Sapling's free plan caps checks at 2,000 characters, Originality.ai gives 10,000 words as a one-time allowance, and ZeroGPT runs a free tier indefinitely. None of them is a substitute for a monthly word pool if you check full articles.

What AI detector does Wikipedia use?

Wikipedia does not run a site-wide detector. WikiProject AI Cleanup founding member Ellia Lebleu worked with Pangram to estimate how much AI-generated text reaches new articles, and the Wikimedia Foundation is building Paste Check to flag text pasted from chatbots. Sanctions still require evidence beyond style.

Originality.ai or Pangram for bulk scanning?

Pangram includes 300,000 words a month for $20; Originality.ai Pro includes 200,000 words for $12.95 a month billed yearly. Originality.ai scales cheaper per 1,000 words at the Enterprise tier (1.5 million words for $136.58 a month billed yearly), while Pangram's advantage is its published calibration against pre-ChatGPT text.

Related reading

Originality.ai vs GPTZero, Grammarly tool profile, Copy.ai tool profile

Sources